Welcome to Mesne Lea Community Primary School.

My name is Kate Cowpe and I have the privilege of being the Chair of Governors at Mesne Lea.  We have 12 members on our Governing Body and they are:

Head Teacher: Mrs J Finlay

Staff representative: Mrs F Zino

Local Authority Representative: Mr A Stribling

Parent Governors: Ms L Bevan, Lauren Sullivan, Kristie Conroy

Other Governors: Jenny Davies

Co-opted Governors: Mrs S Crank, Mrs P Owen, Mr R Mellor (vice Chair), Mrs K Cowpe (Chair), Miss G Smith

We also have one associate member who shares with us their additional skills – Mrs N Taylor Whitehead.


Meet our Governors

Chair of Governors

Kate Cowpe

Vice Chair of Governors

Mr Robert Mellor


Co-opted Governors

 Paddy Owen     Sue Crank 

 Gill Smith

LEA Governors

Mr Alan Stribling

Associate Governors

 Nicola Taylor Whitehead


Parent Governors

   Lisa Bevan          

Lauren Sullivan, Kristie Conroy


Staff Governors

Fiona Zino

Other Governors

Jenny Davies

The Roles of our Governors

The Governors represent the different communities of Mesne Lea – The staff, the parents, the local authority and the local community itself. We come from a variety of backgrounds including Health, Education, Business, Information Technology , Sales and Marketing. We aim to provide a school that delivers the best education and life experiences for the children of Mesne Lea within the finances provided for the school, and for it to be a place of work that the best teachers and support staff want to work.

Governors are responsible for the Strategic direction of a school rather than the day-to- day operational decisions. We support and challenge school leaders and hold them to account for the quality of teaching, pupils’ achievement, behaviour and safety.  In doing this we must manage the finances of the school well and more recently this has included the use of Pupil Premium monies to overcome barriers to learning for our more disadvantaged pupils.

A Governor has a four year term of office – parent and staff governors are elected by their peers, the others are appointed either by the Local Authority (1 member) or by the governing body itself. It is a voluntary position, hard work but very rewarding.


Chairperson                 Mrs Kate Cowpe

Vice Chairperson         Mr Bob Mellor

Headteacher                Mrs Julie Finlay

Co-opted Governor     Mrs Paddy Owen

Co-opted Governor     Mrs Sue Crank

Co-opted Governor     Mr Alan Stribling

Parent Governor        Kristie Conroy

Parent Governor         Mrs Lisa Bevan

Parent Governor        Lauren Sullivan

Other Governor        Jenny Davies

Staff Governor            Mrs Fiona Zino

Associate Governor     Mrs Nicola Taylor Whitehead


Register of Interests

Register of Interests 2016

Attendance Record of Governors Meetings

From Sept 2016 - May 2017

July 2017

Autumn 2017

Attendance documents 2019

Attendance Spring 

Attendance Spring Jan

Attendance Spring Feb


Staff and Governors

Here's a photo of our Staff and Governors at our first joint forum - demonstrating we are "one team" as we continue towards our objective to be an outstanding school.

Contact Details

If you would like to contact any of our School Governors, please ask at the School office or follow the link below.